Home Sweet Home

July 6, 2011: One thing’s for certain: No one moves to DC for its delightful summer weather. It’s insanely humid today as usual. Too humid to exercise. Too humid to even sit still at a table outside. But it’s not too humid for a mere five block walking tour of the not one, not two, not three, but four new sweet shops that opened in my neighborhood in the last seven weeks. Hip hip hooray!

A neighborhood can never have too many shops like these, even if they do open in such quick succession. First Hello Cupcake opened May 20th, followed by The Sweet Lobby, debuting June 11th. Just in time for my return back to the city’s stifling heat, I was blessed with Pitango Gelato on July 1st and 32 Below frozen yogurt on July 2nd.

To celebrate their arrivals, I’ve hit up all of them in the last 24 hours.

Last November, when we moved out of Annapolis and back into the city, I remarked that one thing we’d miss would be our walks down to the ice cream shop on a hot summer night. Downtown Annapolis had more ice cream shops than any place I’d ever lived; hands down one of the top three greatest things about that neighborhood. But now I have the perks of my old city life and my dessert outings back. Needless to say, I’m sufficiently pleased with the newest additions to Barrack’s Row and 7th St. SE.

My stomach is pleased too. It’s now full of one You Tart! cupcake (lemon cake with lemon cream cheese frosting) from Hello Cupcake, one earl grey macaroon and one rose macaroon from The Sweet Lobby, one vanilla frozen yogurt with raspberries from 32 below, and one lemon/chocolate chip gelato combo from Pitango.

Someone please roll me home.

2 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Pingback: Perfectly Typical Capitol Hill | neighborhood nomad

  2. Pingback: A Taste of 8th and A DC Challenge | neighborhood nomad

Leave a Reply

